Components of the Peripheral Nervous System -Definition – Nerves – Ganglia

Components of the Peripheral Nervous System: The peripheral nervous system is the part of the nervous system formed by nerves and ganglia that is related to the transmission of information to the CNS and peripheral organs.

Components of the Peripheral Nervous System

Peripheral Nervous System: The nervous system is an important system in our body and is directly related to our survival. This system is linked to the coordination of the different activities of the organism, being also responsible for allowing the interpretation of the environment that surrounds us. To carry out its activities, the nervous system relies on extremely specialized cells, neurons , which are responsible for transmitting the nervous impulse .

The nervous system can be divided into two types from an anatomical point of view: Central Nervous System (CNS) and Peripheral Nervous System (PNS). The latter is made up of nerves and ganglia and will be discussed more fully below.

→ What is the Peripheral Nervous System?

The PNS is the part of the nervous system formed by the nerves and ganglia. Its primary function is to carry information from Organs peripheral organs to the CNS and bring the responses of this system back to the organs. Therefore, this system is responsible for conveying information.

Components of the Peripheral Nervous System

  • nerves

Components of the Peripheral Nervous System: Nerves are cords formed by nerve fibers arranged in parallel and surrounded by connective tissue . These structures are responsible for joining the central nervous system to the organs of our body, conducting nerve impulses through the fibers. The fibers that carry the stimulus to the CNS are called sensory, and those that bring the response are called motor.

Components of the Peripheral Nervous System

Nerves can be spinal (or spinal) or cranial. The latter unite with the brain, and the spinal nerves are attached to the spinal cord. There are twelve pairs of cranial nerves , which are primarily responsible for innervating structures of the head and neck. The cranial nerves are: olfactory nerve, optic nerve, oculomotor nerve, trochlear nerve, abducens nerve, trigeminal nerve, facial nerve, vestibulocochlear nerve, glossopharyngeal nerve, vagus nerve, accessory nerve and hypoglossal nerve.

Peripheral Nervous System: The spinal nerves, in turn, innervate the trunk, limbs and some regions of the head. They are connected to the spinal cord and depart from the intervertebral foramina of the spine. In total, there are 31 pairs of spinal nerves, which are called cervical, thoracic, lumbar, sacral and coccygeal.In the terminal portion of the nerves, it is possible to observe the nerve endings, which can be sensory or motor. Sensitives are those who can capture stimuli, such as heat, pressure and light. Motor ends in muscles and glands and function similarly to synapses between neurons.

  • ganglia

Components of the Peripheral Nervous System: Ganglia are enlarged regions that are located in the paths traveled by nerves. They are formed by accumulations of cell bodies and are situated outside the CNS.

For More:



Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button